Dr. Edward Massie, MD

1910 – 1990

Edward Massie, MD was a prominent figure in cardiology for more than four decades. He received his undergraduate and medical degrees from Washington University. He trained in Internal Medicine at Barnes and Peter Bent Brigham Hospital, where he worked with Paul Dudley White, Samuel Levine and Soma Weiss. Dr. Massie returned to St. Louis to join the faculty of Washington University in 1938. He was the Director of the Heart Station at Barnes Hospital from 1941 to 1973.

Dr. Massie was a national leader in electrocardiography. Together with Dr. Bernard Lipmann, he co-authored a textbook of Electrocardiography in 1951; eight editions of this book were subsequently published. He was among the first to see the importance of applying computer technology to electrocardiography and, collaborating with cardiologists at Mt. Sinai in New York, he developed criteria for computer interpretation of electrocardiograms (ECGs). Barnes Hospital was one of the first in the world to use computer-assisted ECG analysis under his direction. Dr. Massie was one of the founders of the Scientific Councils of the American Heart Association, and he served as governor and treasurer of the American College of Cardiology. He was an active clinician with a large referral practice and an extraordinarily loyal patient following. In 1988, an Emeritus Professor of Clinical Medicine, he retired from clinical practice and Washington University.

The Edward Massie Distinguished Lectureship and the Edward Massie Endowment Fund were established in his name at Washington University in 1984.    

Previous Massie Visiting Professors

2019 – Glenn I. Fishmann, MD
2018 – Eduardo Marbán, MD, PhD
2017 – John C. Burnett, Jr., MD
2016 – Silvia G. Priori, MD, PhD
2015 – Harry C. Dietz, III, MD
2014 – Gordon F. Tomaselli, MD
2013 – Kim A. Eagle, MD
2012 – Douglas P. Zipes, MD
2011 – Michael Bristow, MD, PhD
2010 – Victor J. Dzau, MD
2009 – Joseph Loscalzo, MD, PhD
2008 – Christine Seidman, MD
2007 – Harlan M. Krumholz, MD, SM
2006 – Daniel Levy, MD
2005 – Daniel L. Rader, MD
2004 – Elizabeth G. Nabel, MD
2003 – R. Sanders Williams, MD
2002 – Joseph Loscalzo, MD, PhD
2001 – Peter Libby, MD
2000 – Robert M. Califf, MD
1999 – Douglas P. Zipes, MD
1998 – Stephen Prescott, MD
1997 – James T. Willerson, MD
1996 – Eric J. Topol, MD
1995 – Spencer King, III, MD
1994 – Barry Massie, MD
1993 – Rene G. Favaloro, MD
1992 – Eugene Braunwald, MD
1991 – William Danforth, MD
1989 – John F. Goodwin, MD
1988 – William B. Kannel, MD
1987 – Mr. Nicholas Wade
1986 – Senator Thomas F. Eagleton
1985 – Sol Sherry, MD
1984 – Bernard Lown, MD